What's new

What criteria did you base your main character choice on?

Hey guys, I am new to the competitive fighting scene. And I am having a lot of trouble picking a character for mk9.

I really want to start getting extremely good at this game, but the most important piece of the puzzle is missing, a character.

So I was hoping you guys could help me pick one. I am pretty new to mortal kombat, haven't played much since deadly alliance, but I love mk9 and want to jump right into the meat of the game.

So, I was hoping some of you veterans could tell me who your favorite character is an why? (Even if your reasons for liking them are not gameplay related)

Also based on my other fighting game characters, I was hoping you could give me some more insight as to who you think would cater to my play style.

In MvC3, my team is Ryu, Wolverine, Akuma -or- Wolverine, Sentinel, Akuma

In MvC2, my team is Magneto, Cable, Sentinel

In SFIITHDR, I play as E. Honda -or- Zangief

In SFIV, I play as Blanka -or- Zangief (working on Hakan and Oni)

In VF5 Online, I play as Akira -or- Wolf

In Tekken: DR, I play as Kazuya

Soul Cal: Nightmare

I realized that it is also worth mentioning that my favorite games other then mk9 are mvc3 and sf4 right now and between those I enjoy playing as ryu, akuma, and wolverine the most, with the occasional attempt at learning zero. Maybe that will help give you guys a better idea of my current gaming state.

Final OP Edit: Well ... for those of you who may have been wondering who I would settle on ... it ended up being Reptile. I liked zoning with noob and ermac but they didnt have rushdown ability. I like nightwolf and jaxs ability to get in, but their zoning game is not good. And I realized reptile and kabal fuse rushdown and zoning quite well. My gf mains kabal though, and I don't want to steal her main, so Reptile it is =D. Kabal may be my alt one day after I master Reptile.