What's new

MS cancels not coming out sometimes

Noserfatu

My eyes! The goggles do nothing!
Does this happen to anyone else?
Sometimes the MS cancel after 114 doesn't come out.. it was killing me all day yesterday. Also when I'm going for the reset and i land the 112, sometimes the MS doesn't come out.

And the most annoying thing of all.. dashing forward into D4 MS cancel.. but getting ring or arc kicks.

It'll make me feel better if other people have these issues, and its not just me being a total noob.

GamerBlake90

Blue Blurs for Life!
You can rest assured you are not the only one. I experience these same issues now and then. It's likely due to an annoying thing called negative edge.

Your best bet is to condition yourself to input the Stance right at the moment you finish your blockstring. If you rush with the inputs, you're bound to input other moves by mistake. As for dashing and getting d4 into Sonic Ring or Arc Kick rather than a stance cancel, I believe it's cause the game stores commands for longer than necessary, so it's interpreting your commands as d4 into a move you don't want. If I were you, I'd try either d1 or d3 into Stance when buffering a dash.

Also, you can cancel into the Stance from so much more than just low pokes or the 1 1 4 and 1 1 2 strings. These stance mix-ups can be interrupted by a well-timed low poke or armored move. You've got to really change up your stance cancel blockstrings so they won't have enough faith in themselves to interrupt your mix-ups even on reaction.

Sonya's extremely heavy on execution skill, so these issues are part of what you risk when playing her. Just practice with her till it all becomes natural.

Noserfatu

"Your best bet is to condition yourself to input the Stance right at the moment you finish your blockstring."

You mean like doing it all in one motion? 114MS all in one motion? Or 114.. wait for the 4 to connect and then hit MS?