What's new

Tech - A-List Johnny Cage Pressure/Combo tech

hey all so I was messing around with A list johnny cage today specifically looking at his unique special moves in that variation. I figured there had to be something more than just his standard F3, run cancel, into F24.
I started playing around with his BF4 move and cancelling it from some of his universal strings and found something pretty nice. If you cancel his 113 string into BF4 then cancel that into run into F24 it creates a nasty situation for whoever is blocking it.

On hit the entire string will combo,
On block they have to block low then quickly high, and even if they somehow block it all F24 is only -5

the inputs are as follows:
113xxBF4, run cancel, F24, into combo I usually do a D1, F3xxBD3 for 25%
Obviously there are more combo options but the part I wanted to highlight is that first part of the string.

The timing is kind of odd, run canceling his BF4 is definitely not as easy as say run canceling his F34.
I know this isn't ground breaking but its a nice option for Johnny to have.

Mikemetroid

Who hired this guy, WTF?
Seeing as how he doesn't have any other overhead or low starters, its pretty safe to quickly block high after 113.

Try going into training mode, put reptile or kunglao on reversal, see if you can do the pressure without getting dashed/spun.

Haven't had time to test the kung lao/reptile reversal thing you mentioned, but just from eye balling it it looks like a true block string.
But even if they can reversal out it just adds another layer to the mix up, Im not saying after 113 you should go overhead everytime obviously mix it up with another 113, F3 run cancel, grab, ect and even if they can reversal out you can always bait it out by canceling the run into block.

Point is doing this puts you at advantage after using an otherwise unsafe string, which as you mentioned is his only low option for combos so why not make it safe regardless of what you do afterwards.